Skip to main content

During a press conference held alongside the National People’s Congress meeting in Beijing, Chinese Foreign Minister Wang Yi announced an expansion of China’s visa exemption policy to six additional European countries, effective from March 14. Minister Wang disclosed, “I am pleased to announce that starting March 14, China will be extending, on a pilot basis, visa exemption to six countries, including Switzerland, Ireland, Hungary, Austria, Belgium, and Luxembourg.”

This move follows the initial revelation of visa exemptions for Swiss and Irish passport holders in January, which coincided with Chinese Premier Li Qiang’s visits to these countries, as reported by Chinese state media. The addition of the other four countries, as stated by Minister Wang, signifies the latest expansion of this policy, aimed at facilitating travel for visitors from specific nations and promoting foreign tourism growth.

READ MORE: PTA Revamps Internet Licensing for Broadband Expansion

Furthermore, in January, China entered into reciprocal agreements with Thailand and Singapore, permanently waiving tourist visa requirements for citizens of both nations, effective from March onwards.

In a similar initiative last November, China launched a trial program allowing visitors from France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, and Malaysia to enter the country visa-free for a 15-day period.

Leave a Reply