In the thrilling World Cup encounter between India and Bangladesh in 2023, the cricketing world witnessed a gripping spectacle that went beyond the mere boundaries of sport. The match, which had been closely contested, took a dramatic turn when India’s batting maestro, Virat Kohli, was on the verge of achieving yet another century. Umpire Richard Kettleborough inadvertently added an extra layer of excitement to this high-stakes showdown by not signaling a clear wide when Kohli was at the crease with a score of 97. This incident left cricket fans and experts buzzing with debates and discussions.

The Build-Up to Kohli’s Century

As the match entered its decisive phase, with India needing just two runs to secure victory and Virat Kohli comfortably stationed at 97, KL Rahul returned the strike to him. The anticipation was palpable, and the focus shifted from being just another India-Bangladesh contest to a nail-biting spectacle centered around Kohli’s pursuit of an elusive century.

READ MORE: The Pakistan International Airlines’ (PIA) Flight Operations Return to Normal

The Controversial Delivery

In the fateful moment, when India required only two runs to clinch victory, Kohli faced a delivery down the leg side from Bangladesh’s left-arm spinner, Nasum Ahmed. The delivery prompted a displeased, irate, and intense glare from the batsman towards the bowler. However, the most significant twist in this story was the decision of Umpire Richard Kettleborough not to signal it as a wide ball.

The Umpire’s Decision

This decision by Kettleborough raised eyebrows and intensified the drama on the field. Replays of the incident showed that it was indeed a bad call, and Kettleborough himself seemed to acknowledge his error as he shook his head upon witnessing it on the big screen. The controversy had spiraled to a point where the very integrity of the game was under scrutiny.

ICC Rules and Ambiguity

According to ICC (International Cricket Council) rules and regulations, a wide ball is determined based on the position of the batter at the crease and where the striker has stood at any point since the bowler began their run-up. However, this law is known to be ambiguous and uncertain, leaving room for differing interpretations and judgments.

Kohli’s Century

Despite the controversy surrounding the wide ball incident, the next delivery bowled by Nassum was a full toss, which Kohli effortlessly dispatched for a six. With that shot, he not only silenced the critics but also achieved his 48th ODI century, finishing with an unbeaten score of 103. India went on to win the game comprehensively by 7 wickets, marking their fourth consecutive victory in this prestigious tournament.


The India vs. Bangladesh match in the 2023 World Cup will forever be remembered for the controversy that erupted during the climax of Virat Kohli’s innings. While cricket is a sport filled with uncertainties, the incident highlighted the need for greater clarity and consistency in the interpretation of rules. It also showcased the indomitable spirit of a legend like Kohli, who brushed aside the controversy to achieve yet another milestone in his illustrious career.


  1. I am now not positive where you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend a while learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for great information I was looking for this info for my mission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here