FIFA Names 16 Cities as Hosts for 2026 World Cup

FIFA Names 16 Cities as Hosts for 2026 World Cup

FIFA, the football governing body, has announced the 16 North American cities that will be hosting matches at the 2026 World Cup.

FIFA announced Thursday that 11 American cities were chosen to host the games. They included Atlanta, Boston and Dallas, Houston as well as Los Angeles, Kansas City, Los Angeles and Miami.

Games will be hosted in Canada’s cities of Vancouver and Toronto, as well as the Mexican cities Guadalajara and Monterrey.

Gianni Infantino, FIFA president, stated on FS1 that the final and first games were still to be decided.

Also Read: FIFA World Cup 2022: Full list of qualified countries and their groups

Two venues were open for consideration in Los Angeles. FIFA chose SoFi Stadium, the brand new home of the NFL’s Los Angeles Rams & Chargers, to host the 1994 World Cup Final over the Rose Bowl.

The finalist cities that were not selected were Baltimore/Washington, DC, Cincinnati, Denver, Edmonton, Nashville and Orlando. Baltimore and Washington joined forces earlier in the year.

The 2026 World Cup will mark the beginning of a tournament that grows from 32 to 48 countries.

For the first time, three countries share hosting duties.

Mexico hosted the 1970 and 1986 World Cups, and Mexico will be hosting the event for the third consecutive time. The 1994 World Cup was hosted by the USA, and 2026 will mark Canada’s debut as host.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here