As part of the tri-nation series against New Zealand, Pakistan’s wicketkeeper batter Mohammad Rizwan became the second-highest run-scorer of the year in T20I cricket in 2022.

During the shortest format of the game, Rizwan finished the series as the second-highest run-scorer, scoring 34 runs off 29 balls to overtake Suryakumar Yadav.

The current score of Rizwan in T20Is is 821 runs in 18 innings, which represents a strike rate of 126.30 and an average of 54.73, while Yadav has scored 801 runs in 23 innings, which represents a strike rate of 40.05 and a strike rate of 183.43 respectively.

Listed here are the top 5:

Mohammad RizwanPakistan181882188*54.73126.3009
SA YadavIndia232380111740.05184.5616
DS AireeNepal1817626110*48.15136.6814
S DaviziCzech Republic1515612115*51.00146.4122
Babar AzamPakistan1919611110*38.18131.9614

Furthermore, the 30-year-old was also voted as the ICC’s T20I Cricketer of the Year by the ICC in year 2021 for his performance in this format, amassing a record-breaking 1,326 runs in only 26 innings, including a century and twelve fifties. He also was the 2014 World Cup winner for his performances in the format.

Must Read: Rizwan Sets New Record for Most Runs in Bilateral T20I Series

Earlier this month, the KP-born cricketer, who has long been regarded as the best batsman in T20Is, dethroned Pakistani skipper, Babar Azam, from the top spot in the T20I batting rankings, which effectively brought an end to his 1025-day reign.

The fact that Rizwan faced harsh criticism for his slow batting shouldn’t be overlooked. In the Asia Cup, Rizwan was the leading run-scorer with the highest number of runs scored, while in the tri-series, he finished with the second most runs scored.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here