Indian match won due to biased umpiring, experts claim

0
Indian match won due to biased umpiring, experts claim
Indian match won due to biased umpiring, experts claim

On the last ball of the match in the match between Pakistan and India, India emerged victorious with the final toss of the game as they established themselves as Masters of the T20 World Cup history.

There was certainly some questionable decisions made by some key players during the game that helped turn the tide in the Men in Blue’s favor and while Virat Kohli played one of the best innings in T20 history, there were some questionable decisions made others at crucial points during the game.

Pakistan’s all-rounder, Mohammad Nawaz, took the field in the final over of the game and was faced with the task of defending 16 runs in the final over of the game. The two captains Kohli and Pandya who had played exemplary cricket to rescue India from an extremely precarious situation were confident of chasing down the total, but Nawaz had other ideas, as he dismissed Pandya on the very first ball of the innings.

READ MORE: World Cup Super 12 starts with a win for New Zealand and England

After the fourth ball of the over, India turned the match in their favor when Kohli struck Nawaz for a six on the fourth ball of the over. The full toss above waist height was adjudged a no-ball by the leg umpire, Marais Erasmus, to the dismay of the entire cricket world, after the ball was disallowed for a no-ball. Babar, the captain of the Pakistan team, was outraged at the questionable decision made by the referee, and he requested that it be confirmed by the umpire, but to no avail.

Another questionable decision went against Pakistan in the New Zealand Test after Kohli was bowled by Nawaz on the fifth ball (a free hit) as the ball deflected off both stumps and flew to the third man position. The ball then ran off the stumps and went to the third man.

When a ball hits a stump in cricket, it is deemed dead, according to the rules of the International Cricket Council (ICC). The rule book does not clearly clarify whether when the ball hits the stumps during a free-hit, the ball is considered to be a free hit. However, it should be noted that in a game of such magnitude, the decision by the on-field umpires should have been confirmed by the match referee, Ranjan Madugalle, before a final decision was reached on whether to use the delivery.

With 4 wickets in hand, India chased down the 160-run target with ease after the decision changed the course of the game on its way to victory. There was an uproar on social media as a result of the questionable decision made by the referee in the game, as fans were disappointed that the game was officiated so poorly.

It has also been reported that Brad Hogg, one of Australia’s most famous cricketers, has weighed in on the issue on social media.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here