google-site-verification: google65a83de5d23a6899.html google-site-verification: google65a83de5d23a6899.html
HomeBusinessPakistan to remain the ICC Champions Trophy title winners forever

Pakistan to remain the ICC Champions Trophy title winners forever

Pakistan to remain the ICC Champions Trophy title winners forever. The second biggest event of cricket world ICC Champions Trophy tournament going to be replaced with a World T20.

International Cricket Council (ICC) announced to end the second biggest ODI cricket tournament after the World Cup and decided to replace it with a World T20 in 2021.

Well, the Good news out of all this for Pakistan is that we will forever remain the champions of the tournament. Last year, Pakistan won the Champions Trophy against the arch-rivals India by beating them at a good 180-run margin.

The ICC CEO David Richardson said;

“In all likelihood, the 2021 Champions Trophy will be a World T20.”

On the other hand, the CT tournament was set to be held in India as BCCI says that the plan and format switch will upshot in a $30 million loss to their board.

Must Read: Education sector neglected once again in budget for FY 2018-19

However, for 2020 a T20 world cup is already scheduled in Australia soothe news is we will have two consecutive world cups, once the decision gets the final proceed. After finalizing the decision once it get starts the World T20 in 2021, the tournament will be played after every two years.

The reason behind the format Change

The biggest reason behind this change of formats is that ICC wants cricket to go global. Despite the fact that cricket is the second most watched game in the world, just a handful of nations are following it regularly. However, ICC wants to increase its popularity with a hostile way in more countries by introducing T20 as the face of the game.

In addition, council is also considering the most apparent and appropriate option to get a spot at Olympics and T20 seems to be right for that purpose.

Richardson added;

“We always knew the T20 format is the vehicle for growing the game and transforming it from being a sport played by a few countries to a truly global sport.”

ICC will also introduce global rankings for women’s team from November this year. Global rankings for men’s cricket for all member nations will be introduced in May 2019.

ICC will also award the T20 International status to all 104 of its members as well. All women’s teams will be awarded T20I status on 1st July 2018, while all men’s teams will receive it on 1st January 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

google-site-verification: google65a83de5d23a6899.html