Pakistan’s ‘free-hit’ rule will be changed by the ICC, says ex-New Zealander

0
Pakistan's 'free-hit' rule will be changed by the ICC, says ex-New Zealander
Pakistan's 'free-hit' rule will be changed by the ICC, says ex-New Zealander

In the lead-up to the 2022 T20 World Cup, former New Zealand cricketer Grant Elliot weighed in with his two cents on the ‘no ball and free hit’ controversy. ICC will look at changing the rules after the mega-event, Elliott believes the incident could spark a change.

His opinion was voiced on Twitter by the former Kiwi all-rounder. He tweeted, “Why do I feel like there will be a rule change post this World Cup?”

ICC rules did not clearly state the free-hit rule during the last over of the epic encounter between the arch-rivals, causing a massive social media debate.

READ MORE: The OnePlus Nord N300 has been launched in the United States with a Dimensity 810 5G chipset and a 90Hz refresh rate display

Firstly, the leg-umpire incorrectly ruled a no-ball based on Nawaz’s ball being above Kohli’s waist; however, the replay showed it was marginal and the leg-umpire should have sought the third umpire’s opinion.

The batsmen were able to run three extra runs after Kohli was bowled on a free hit but the ball deflected off the stumps. According to the ICC rules, the ball should have been dead after hitting the stumps, which caused an uproar among the fans.

India won the opening match of Group B in the 2022 T20 World Cup by four wickets due to two umpire decisions.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here