With Pakistan’s general elections quickly approaching, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has shifted into high gear, finalizing crucial steps for the upcoming nationwide vote. This week, the ECP unveiled the complete list of registered political parties, marking a key milestone in the electoral process.

The most significant addition to the list is the newly formed Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) led by President Abdul Aleem Khan. Established parties like Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) remain under their previous leader, Imran Khan. At the same time, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) will contest under Shehbaz Sharif and Asif Ali Zardari, respectively.

Other prominent parties and their leaders include PML-Q under Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Balochistan Awami Party under Abdul Quddus Bizenjo, AMLP under Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, ANP under Asfandyar Wali Khan, BNP under Akhtar Mengal, and Jamaat-e-Islami under Sirajul Haq.

READ MORE : Banks to Be Closed for Consecutive 3 Days includes State Bank

Meanwhile, the nomination process has officially begun. Potential candidates can collect forms from the ECP between 8:30 am and 4:30 pm, with the deadline for submitting papers set for December 22nd. The preliminary list of candidates will be released the following day, followed by a scrutiny period lasting from December 24th to 30th. Finally, on January 13th, the ECP will officially allot election symbols for each party and independent candidate.

As anticipation builds towards the polls, the ECP’s swift and organized execution of these critical steps sets the stage for a smooth and transparent electoral process.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here