HomeBusinessRecord 15 Pakistanis won election in UK

Record 15 Pakistanis won election in UK

15 Pakistani origin politicians turned out victorious in the UK election which is a first in the history of the United Kingdom. The election result declared Conservative party winner which is led by Boris Johnson. Boris Johnson recorded a substantial victory over Labour party. Overall 24 Muslim MP’s are elected in which 15 are of Pakistani origin.

Furthermore, 10 seats were won by Pakistanis belonging from Labour Party and just 5 from Conservative Party. 

The candidates who won the election from Labour party were Naz Shah from Bradford, Khalid Mehmood from Birmingham, Yasmin Qureshi from South Bolton, Afzal Khan from Manchester Gorton, Tahir Ali from Birmingham Hall Green, Muhammad Yaseen from Bedford, Imran Hussain from Bradford East, Zarah Sultana from Coventry South, Shabana Mahmood from Birmingham Ladywood and Rozina Ali from Tooting.

And British-Pakistanis from the conservative Party include Nusrat Ghani from Wealden, Imran Ahmed from Bedfordshire, Sajid Javid from Bromsgrove, Rehman Chishti from Gillingham and Saqib Bhatti from Meriden.

Must Read : Pakistani rupee may hit 150 against $ in coming months

A total of 70 candidates were given tickets as compare to 40 in 2017 election in UK. 2019 saw a significant increase in candidates belonging from Pakistan. UK is populated with more than 1 million Pakistani origin people. The increase in number shows that Pakistani community would have more representatives in the UK administration. Several other Muslim candidates were also elected but the Pakistani origin candidates are on top. 

There are some important personalities who are on top and from Pakistani origin. Sajid Javid is among them who was Minister for the Home department in the UK. The London mayor Sadiq Khan is also of Pakistani origin.Boris Johnson is facing one of the most unprecedented democratic crisis in the form of Brexit. However, in a new statement he revealed that the UK will leave the EU by 31st of January next year at every cost.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read