Skip to main content

Barrister Gohar Ali Khan has secured the position of chairman for Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) without contest as his rival panel withdrew, making him the sole candidate for the position. This marks his second consecutive term in this role within the party. The PTI released a statement confirming the unopposed election, stating, “At the conclusion of the withdrawal phase of Candidates/Panels, there is only one Candidate/Panel remaining.”

Furthermore, Omar Ayub Khan has been elected as the central general secretary of the party uncontested, according to the party’s announcement today.

READ MORE: LDA Demolishes Numerous Illegal Properties in Lahore

In addition, Dr. Yasmin Rashid, Ali Amin Gandapur, and Haleem Adil Sheikh have been elected unopposed as presidents for Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Sindh, respectively, as no opposing candidates emerged for these positions.

For the Balochistan president’s post, an intra-party poll will be conducted in Quetta by the former ruling party.

The official result of these elections is set to be declared by the Federal Election Commissioner on March 3, 2024, marking the conclusion of the election process.

These intra-party polls were necessitated after the Supreme Court upheld the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP)’s decision regarding the party’s internal elections, resulting in the loss of PTI’s iconic electoral bat symbol.

Last November, Imran Khan, the party’s founder, resigned from his position as PTI chief to circumvent potential legal ramifications, given the numerous legal cases against him ranging from terrorism to money laundering since his removal from power in April 2022.

Leave a Reply